Just Keep Swimming

26 Jul

Don’t worry… even though I suck at blogging, I haven’t been sucking at my goals. In fact, things are going quite well!

I am now at around 233 lb — that’s almost 50 lbs lost from the 2009 weight I had last recorded. I may have lost more — we’ll never know because I never got a true start weight when I began eating healthy back in April. But it doesn’t really matter that much…does it? I’ve lost weight, people have noticed, and I find myself browsing in my closet in search of clothes that still fit.

I wanted to update with my current routine:

Diet:

I still eat paleo almost all the time. The times I don’t, I consider a “cheat” and I try not to have cheats more than only a few times a week, if that. I try to get plenty of proteins, veggies, and some fruits in every day. I’ve been trying to limit nuts and sweet potatoes since I heard they’re not so great for weight loss.

Exercise:

For a while, I was swimming 3 times a week, doing Zumba twice a week, and then Pilates/Barre class once a week. Then I realized that weight training is pretty important and I’d been neglecting it, so I’ve traded in Zumba/pilates for weight training. So currently:

Swim: Sun, Tues, Thurs

I was originally doing swim workouts based on yardage and workouts I found online that involved sets of swims, pulls, kicks, etc. Much like my high school years. For the past week or so, I’ve switched to doing HIIT and steady-pace, which is based on time rather than distance. I’ll warm-up with a 500 or 600 yard build (basically, a 10 minute warm-up), and then do 15 minutes of HIITs, alternating 30 seconds of sprinting with 1 minute of recovery. After the HIIT, I rest for 5 minutes (do some half-assed stretching in the pool), and then proceed to swim for another 15 minutes at a steady pace.

The school of thought here is that HIIT releases triglycerides into your blood stream, and then the steady-pace cardio helps to burn your fat even more after wards. It’s all great and dandy in theory, so I’m giving it a go. Eventually I’ll want to work up to 20-30 min of HIIT, and then 30 min of steady pace.

Weights: Mon, Wed, Sat

I’m working through The New Rules of Lifting for Women: Lift Like a Man, Look Like a Goddess. It’s nice to have a program to follow…otherwise I’d wander aimlessly through the weight section of the gym, or just avoid it completely. The book is focused on free weights. Free weights have always intimidated me… and I’m not quite over that yet. I do barbell squats, dead lifts, among other things. I feel like I see more tone in my arms/upper body, and I know my legs feel more toned…but I’m not sure if that’s a result of the weights, or just losing fat.

Friday is rest day.

So that’s it. That’s the routine… for now. I’m kind of wondering if I get enough cardio (since I only swim like 3 times a week, and it’s about 45 min a session). I always grew up believing cardio was where the fat-loss success was… but a lot of sources now indicate weight training to be the biggest tool in losing fat.

I do miss Zumba though.

2 Responses to “Just Keep Swimming”

  1. Jenny July 26, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    Hey Meghan,

    That’s really great that you have been making so much progress. That really encourages me to get back on a regular exercise program…in between field work and the puppy, I just have to squeeze one in when I can. I miss having a workout routine.

    I think 45 min of swimming 3xs a week is plenty of cardio…but I’m also a horrible swimmer, so even swimming 45 minutes once a week sounds daunting to me.

    • Meghan July 27, 2012 at 12:45 am #

      Thanks Jen! I’m sure that your job (field work) and the puppy makes it hard to fit in the exercise. I’m lucky in that I pretty much always get off work around 5:30, go home and eat some food, and really have no other obligations other than working out each evening. At times I feel like my life is kind of monotonous (wake up. work. go home. make dinner. work out. sleep. repeat). But I’m grateful that I have the time to do these things for myself. I had made excuses for so many years on why I didn’t have a routine… I’m glad I finally woke up and realized this is a priority for me to live my full potential.

Leave a Reply

