The Art of Being Patient

11 Aug

I didn’t become a near-300lb girl over night. And I certainly won’t become the pinnacle of fitness overnight either. But sometimes… I get impatient with this fat-loss process.

The intention is not to sit here and whine about how long it’s taking for weight to come off. But I want to acknowledge my thoughts and feelings through this journey. And right now, I’m feeling pretty impatient. See, the number on the scale? It’s not moving much these days. I feel like it’s been 2 weeks since losing any pounds. I was thinking that losing 2 lbs a week was a pretty manageable (and pretty slow) goal. Now I’m wondering if I was being naive.

I try not to get too disappointed when I step on the scale and see no change (or gasp… being a few pounds heavier) that day. I remind myself that muscle weighs more than fat, and that my increased muscle mass is no doubt a significant reason that the number’s not decreasing at a steady pace. I also typically weigh myself in the evening (after a full day of eating and drinking lots of water), so there seems to be a lot of variance. I guess I just got used to seeing the number decrease so quickly at the beginning. The first 40 lbs (or however many there were those first 2 months) seemed to come off so quickly… did I think that would continue to the whole way through? To be honest… yeah, I kind of did.

Now it’s important to point out that the number on the scale is not the only thing that matters in seeing fat-loss progression. About a month or so ago, I began to lift weights 2-3 times a week. And it’s not  5lb dumbbells that I lift — it’s 115lb squats and deadlifts, 80 lb lat pull downs… you know…big girl weights. I can feel increased muscle tone in my arms and legs, and that’s great. I also know that muscle weighs more than fat… and if I’m increasing muscle mass, then it’s pretty easy to understand why the scale’s number isn’t decreasing as quickly as it used to. That doesn’t mean I’m not headed in the right direction or doing the right thing. It’s just a bit daunting to realize I still have 70 pounds to lose to hit my goal weight, and the time it’s taking to lose pounds these days makes me think this goal is still a very long time away.

All I can do is continue on my path, and just enjoy the journey. I’ve learned a lot, and I think I’ve inspired some people in my life– which makes me feel great. Co-workers, friends and family members continue to comment and acknowledge the hard work I’m putting in to lose weight and get healthy. The supportive comments really help keep my morale up. I just have to stay focused, stay positive, and really experience the present. I’ve always been a person who kind of lives in the future… always trying to anticipate things. This makes being content nearly impossible. So here’s to the present — and learning to be patient, while I wait for something I’ve spent almost my entire life wanting.

2 Responses to “The Art of Being Patient”

  1. chau August 12, 2012 at 3:27 am #

    Damn Meghan. 115lb lifts? That’s BEAST.

  2. Stronglikemycoffee August 12, 2012 at 5:15 am #

    I think 2 lbs a week is a perfect goal & your weightlifting will definitely help turn fat into muscle. Muscle also speeds metabolism and takes up less space than fat does. So no matter the number on the scale, your body is improving! Keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

