Quick Check-in

24 Sep

Hi guys. I got lazy and didn’t update this blog for a while. But I figured it was time for a check-in.

The scale is still missing from the gym I go to, so I haven’t weighed myself on an accurate scale in quite a while. I’m going to GUESS that I’m around the same weight as last time I checked. It’s slow-going in the weight loss department. I believe my body is still changing though. Still lifting weights and getting stronger.

The new phase of New Rules of Lifting for Women is more challenging than phase 1. That’s expected, of course. There are quite a few exercises that make me hate my life. Like the raised lunges I do while holding 30 lb dumbbells. It’s harrrrrd (whine whine whine). I just keep trying to remind myself that the pain means I’ll get results.

Yesterday, I was in a wedding. This wedding was kind of part of my breaking point back in April when I went strict-Paleo. See I had to wear this dress.

I was not happy about this dress. Well actually I take that back. I was really happy when I heard it was a one-size-fits-all dress, and it would allow us to do all these different styles with one dress. It seemed like a bridesmaid dress dream come true — a dress I could truly wear again after the wedding.

When I realized that one-size-fits-all actually meant size 0 – 12, (and at the time, I was about size 22), I felt pretty unhappy. When I tried the dress on for the first time (back in March or April..not sure what month that was), I was mortified. I felt disgusted with how I looked in it… and so self-conscious of my fat legs. The dress, with its unforgiving clinginess, sparked a sense of urgency in me… knowing I had about 6 months to lose weight and improve my physique to look better in the dress.

Well yesterday came and went. Did I feel awesome in the dress? Maybe halfway to awesome. I felt alright. I felt a LOT better than I did 6 months ago though… I’ll tell you that much! I don’t really have a good shot… other than this picture from facebook:

That’s me in the middle. When I saw this pic… I was kind of shocked by how good my legs looked. I know I’m still waaaay over-weight. Hell, I’m still obese. I get that. But I look strong! I have a shape! I Maybe this picture is kind of a bad example because it’s pretty blurry and far away… but it’s all that I have right now to show.

I’ve been using this dress to take my fat-loss pictures in. I took an initial picture back in April with this dress, and it was awful. I will take another at the 6 month mark, and I will make a side-by-side comparison picture to show. I’d do it now with the one above, but I think I should use a better/clearer picture for that anyway.

It’s a relief that the wedding is done — the bachelorette party weekend and this wedding kind of threw off my diet/work-out schedule a bit. Now I can go back to focusing on eating healthy and doing my weekend workouts as well.

Oh yeah! I just remembered what I came to actually blog about: running. I just started the Couch to 5k Program last Saturday. I decided I wanted to be able to run a 5k, and running’s also a great work-out for when I don’t have a chance to make it to the gym. I’m now onto week 2 of the program. I run about 2 miles each time (I run longer than the program calls for) and in the program you alternate running with walking for set intervals. Eventually I’ll be able to run a 5k without having to walk. That’s about 8 weeks down the road from now…but I’m really looking forward to it. I’ve always admired runners… what a useful skill to have.

Trying to work running into my current workout schedule is proving to be a little difficult. I want to run 3 times a week. I also want to continue lifting weights 3 times a week. If I wish to continue swimming (which I do), then I really don’t have a choice but to swim and run on the same day. I am thinking that I will probably do running right after work, and then swim after that. I’m hoping this isn’t too much… I dont’ think it should be. If I keep the running workouts to about 30 minutes, and swimming to about 45… should be okay I think. Maybe this is what I need to bust through my plateau anyway.

12 Responses to “Quick Check-in”

  1. Nicole September 25, 2012 at 4:02 am #

    Yay Meghan! You look awesome!… I’m on week 3 of couch to 5k and the first 3 minute run was a stretch for me…too bad you and I don’t just have that running gene in us.. My sis-in-law just finished her first half iron man (1.2 mile swim, 52 mile bike, 13.1 mile run)..that just sounds exhausting to me!…But keep up the good work! Just wanted to let you know I’m still rooting for you!

    • Meghan September 25, 2012 at 4:10 am #

      I’m on week 2! Too bad we’re not on the same weeks! haha — I’m trying my best to fake that runner’s gene!!!

      An ironman would be such a victory… maybe one day!

  2. Jenny September 26, 2012 at 2:12 am #

    Woot! You look fantastic.

    • Meghan September 30, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

      Thanks Jen 🙂

  3. chau September 26, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    You look so cute in that dress and your legs look toned! But what stands out most, is your expression in that photo.

    • Meghan September 30, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

      hah I’m surprised you can even make out my expression in that blurry shot!

  4. Andie October 21, 2012 at 2:15 am #

    Megz you looked so BEAUTIFUL in that dress! I’m so proud of ya, you’re such a hot babe 😉 FaceTime soon..?

    • Meghan October 21, 2012 at 4:15 am #

      Thanks Andie! And we should definitely do facetime soon! I probably can’t tomorrow, but maybe next weekend??

      • Andrea October 21, 2012 at 4:40 am #

        Next weekend we’ll be attending the seminar with the adoption agency.. How about one evening this week? Wait, you work out in the evenings, right?

      • Meghan October 21, 2012 at 4:41 am #

        yeah I workout in the evenings — but not on Friday — would you be free on Friday evening maybe?

      • Andrea October 21, 2012 at 4:43 am #

        Yes! 🙂

      • Meghan October 21, 2012 at 4:46 am #

        sweeeeet!

Leave a Reply

