Am I a Runner Yet?

8 Dec

I can’t believe it’s already a week into December! Pretty soon it will be 2013 (unless the Mayans were right after all…). I guess the holiday season is in full swing, but so far it hasn’t been too bad as far as temptations go. I’ve been sticking to eating mostly healthy/paleo, and am just continuing on my way with things. 

I figured it was past-due time for a check-in on the Couch-to-5k program. Tonight I did the second work out of week 5. It involved a 5 minute walk (warm-up), 8 minutes of running, 5 minutes walking, and 8 minutes of running again. 

I know I’m not running miles yet…but I feel so encouraged when I complete my runs. I almost feel like a runner… which is something I never thought I’d become. 

The third workout for week 5 is a straight 20 minute run. I’m scared of this one… it seems like such a jump from doing 2 8 minute runs with 5 min of walking between. But I’m determined to do this.

Running is really cool. As a swimmer, I have always envied runners for a few reasons.

1. You get to listen to music while you run. When you swim, you hear just water-noise. Music is such a nice thing to have when you’re working out. Tangent: did you know that supposedly, the best bpm for running is 180? I learned this while I was looking online for good running music.

2. You get to breathe fresh air. Swimming – you breathe pool air (chlorine fumes).

3. You get to run around nice scenery, or see things. I’m fortunate to have a fairly nice running trail just 5 minutes walk from my front door. I get to see trees, ducks, geese, grass, a creek, and a monstrous display of Christmas lights! In swimming, I stare at a line at the bottom of the pool.

4. Convenience — running just takes putting on your clothes, shoes, and walking out the door. No need to travel to the gym. 

Yes, running definitely has its perks. I just look forward to when I’m at my goal weight (50 lbs lighter than what I am now); I’d imagine running will be so much easier and more enjoyable then.

Leave a Reply

