3 milers

16 Jan

I just finished my 3rd time running 3 miles tonight. My time is around 34 minutes — not fantastic, but I CAN JOG 3 MILES WITHOUT WALKING. That’s a victory in itself for me.

Running is a funny thing. Sometimes it feels good. Sometimes it feels okay. Sometimes it hurts. And a lot of times, I feel like I’m going to die. There are times on every run that I have to talk myself into continuing on. I am always tempted to walk a few seconds here and there. Sometimes I give in. But these last 2 runs (which I’ve done by myself), I haven’t — I just jog through these temptations and dips in energy. I always surprise myself when I do this.

I’m just really excited that I can run 3 miles now. So there you have it. The Couch to 5k works. I did it! Now it’s time to get my 5k time faster. I should probably integrate some interval training into my running… and it’d probably be more fun that way too. I’ve also been meaning to time myself on a 1 mile run… I know my pace is around 11 minutes currently, but that’s when I’m running 3 miles all together. If I only have to worry about 1, I wonder how fast I could do it…hmmmmm.

It’s been cold here in Dallas. It actually snowed at some point last night… I woke up to snow on the ground and on my car. It didn’t excite me at all…. I guess it’s a sign I’m becoming a boring adult. Anyway, I’m not sure if it’s the cold temperatures, but yesterday I felt like I had an appetite that just could not be tamed. I think we all have those days where we’re just hungry and want to eat everything in sight. I did pretty good about keeping it all healthy foods, but it felt like I was eating a lot and it was kind of frustrating to be that hungry. I actually decided to not work out yesterday because I was just too damn hungry and cold to imagine swimming. Is that wussy-ing out? Maybe… but I’m entitled to at least 1 rest day a week so I guess that was it.

I should probably start tracking my calories/food more closely. I honestly have no idea how many calories I consume in any given day… and that’s probably a little irresponsible of me, I guess. I figured if I just ate when I was hungry, and ate only healthy foods, then it wouldn’t be a problem. Mostly, that’s worked for me, but weight loss rate is getting slower and April (my 1-year anniversary) will be here before I know it. I’m determined it break 100 lbs lost before then (which shouldn’t be hard… I’m at around 90 lbs lost now).

5 Responses to “3 milers”

  1. chau January 16, 2013 at 3:36 am #

    WHAAAT. I can’t believe it snowed there. It hasn’t even snowed here yet. And you are totally entitled to eating whenever you’re damn hungry. Listen to your stomach. It does not lie. You deserved it anyway for the 3 miles. woot WOOT. =)

    • Meghan January 18, 2013 at 5:00 am #

      haha that is a dangerous outlook chau!

  2. Jenny January 16, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    Woo! Congratulations!

    • Meghan January 18, 2013 at 4:59 am #

      Thanks Jen! Running is tough stuff — I can’t wrap my head around marathons. ever plan to do another?

      • Jenny January 20, 2013 at 3:33 am #

        One of these days. I think I want to do a half-marathon at the end of this year…we’ll see. 🙂

Leave a Reply

