Co-ops: The Adventurous Way to Get Food

16 Feb
Image

The second co-op pick-up

So… co-ops are pretty cool. I had heard about them before (mostly online resources), and people made them sound like a good way to get a lot of product (local, organic, or both) for a better deal. Well it costs me $30 each pick-up, and I get about 15 lbs of produce in my half-share. So that’s an average of $2/lb price for my produce — but it’s all organic. So I guess that is an okay deal. But the thing I appreciate most is that this is forcing me to be more adventurous and creative with my food. I have never tried beets… and I got some in this last pick-up. I will channel my inner Dwight Schrute and make some beet chips using this recipe I found online. I also got some of these weird purple potatoes in my pick-up, which I guess I will eat even though I try to limit my starchy carbs.

It’s a fun adventure, this co-op thing. And it supports local agriculture/farms, so that’s nice.

 

Oh and I thought I would post this funny Portlandia snippet where a couple who gets produce from a co-op get an alien-fruit (durian, ew smelly!). I’m still waiting for the day I find a durian in my pick-up. If that happens, I will be both excited and horrified.

 

4 Responses to “Co-ops: The Adventurous Way to Get Food”

  1. chau February 17, 2013 at 2:01 am #

    I feel like sticking my hand down that veggie batch and grabbing me that butternut squash. It always gets me when I cut it in half and see that circle of seed mesh. hehe!

    Anyway, if you ever get Durian and you can’t get pass the smell, try freezing the chunks. It won’t smell as strong, plus it will be like ice cream cake. Well, not quite. But almost. And do blue potato chips with beet chips!

    • Meghan February 17, 2013 at 2:20 am #

      so if you were me… what would you do with the butternut squash? i haven’t decided yet!

      i want to try durian someday… i will make sure i cut it up outside. haha

      • chau February 17, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

        Soup!!! I love it with a bit of ginger. It’s still chilly over here, so I’ve been craving soups. I even feel like eating Borscht soup when I saw those beets. I can’t stop looking at your veggie batch.

        Meghan, I can so see you throw the durian around, yelling “hear me roar. aaaaaahhhh.” lol.

      • Meghan February 19, 2013 at 1:23 am #

        lol Chau — I would totally throw that durian and yell that. or maybe “I AM THA MEGABEASSTTT!”

Leave a Reply

